Make a selection



             On May 3, 2003, the Board of Directors of the Baseball Reliquary officially tabulated the votes for the 2003 election of the Shrine of the Eternals. In an extremely close election, Marvin Miller, Jim Abbott, and Ila Borders received the highest number of votes, thereby gaining admission to the Shrine of the Eternals. Of the fifty eligible candidates on the 2003 ballot, Miller received the highest voting percentage, being named on 36% of the ballots returned, followed by Jim Abbott and Ila Borders with 33% each. Miller had been a candidate for election to the Shrine of the Eternals since 1999 and Abbott since 2000, while Borders made her first appearance on the ballot in 2003. In this year’s tightly-contested election, runners-up in the voting were Roberto Clemente (32%), Jackie Robinson (31%), Dick Allen (30%), Yogi Berra (30%), and William “Dummy” Hoy (30%). A complete listing of all candidates for the 2003 election and voting percentages can be obtained by sending a self-addressed stamped envelope to: The Baseball Reliquary, PO Box 1850, Monrovia, CA 91017.
The Shrine of the Eternals 2003 Induction Day is scheduled for Sunday, July 20, 2003 in Pasadena, California. On that day, Jim Abbott, Ila Borders, and Marvin Miller will formally enter the Shrine of the Eternals, joining previous inductees Moe Berg, Jim Bouton, Dock Ellis, Mark Fidrych, Curt Flood, Shoeless Joe Jackson, Bill Lee, Minnie Minoso, Satchel Paige, Jimmy Piersall, Pam Postema, and Bill Veeck. Complete details on the 2003 Induction Day, including information on guest speakers and the recipients of the 2003 Hilda Award and 2003 Tony Salin Memorial Award, will be posted on this Web site in the month of June. For additional information, contact the Baseball Reliquary by phone at (626) 791-7647 or by e-mail at

Back Next 
[Collections Index]